Matcha Tea in the Bamboo Garden in Kamakura

This is one of the most luxurious cafes I have discovered.  By luxurious, I mean you can enjoy a cup of matcha tea with wagashi in the open air balcony of the cafe overlooking the bamboo garden surrounded by zillions of bamboo.  Every time I visit Kamakura, I drop by this Bamboo Garden AKA the Hokokuji Temple to enjoy this special moment to get refreshed.  Sometimes I even meditate or muse in this green bamboo world which brings me total inner peace…it’s as if I’m washing off all the negative people I come by in the city life….I breathe green air and take in energy to keep on going….  Here throughout the year it is green. In the green world, you can forget everything in the outer world.  Yes, that is how I feel.  I hope it does the same for you too… Kamakura is only a 50 minute train ride away from Shinagawa station, so I visit here occasionally and go shopping around the antiques, searching for Kamakurabori crafts, dining, sightseeing or to go beach walking.  I see housewives carry an icebox to shop for fresh seafood.  I imagine the yummy food people cook at home for that evening.

The admission to the temple is 200 yen and you can purchase a ticket for an additional 500 yen to have your tea and wagashi which they serve on the beautiful Kamakurabori handmade traditional tray.

Enjoy the tranquility.

IMG_3479 IMG_3480 IMG_3482 IMG_3483 IMG_3487 IMG_3489 IMG_3490 IMG_3491 IMG_3492 IMG_3493 IMG_3494 IMG_3499 IMG_3500 IMG_3502 IMG_3504 IMG_3505 IMG_3506 IMG_3507 IMG_3508 IMG_3509 IMG_3510 IMG_3511 IMG_3512 IMG_3514

IMG_3513

 

 

Leave a Reply

